Historic buildings get new roofs

TWO roofs on the historic Forres drill hall are being replaced by AJE.

Designed by Charles C Doig in 1909-10, the complex which is also known as the Forres Joint Cadet Centre comprises several buildings including a rifle range and classroom which are the two buildings that AJE will be renovating.

The rifle range is 21 metres long and has a corrugated asbestos cement roof and the classroom currently has a slate roof.

Project Manager James Attridge said: “It’s a great project to be working on as the building is historically important to the town. It’s been fascinating getting to see it. As well as replacing roofs, we have also demolished two brick lean-to extensions to the rear of the drill hall.”

He added: “The roof on the rifle range will be replaced with a composite cladding whilst the classroom roof will be replaced with new Spanish slates. It is expected the works will begin on 5th July and be completed by end July.

Forres Joint Cadet Centre was constructed shortly after the 1908 reorganisation of the Territorial forces, brought about by the Territorial Forces Act 1907. An Aberdeen Journal newspaper article from 1907 reports that a bazaar was held to raise funds for a drill hall for A and H Companies of the 3rd Volunteer Battalion Seaforth Highlanders. The building was officially opened in March 1910 by Brigadier-General Forbes Macbean and cost around £1300 (Aberdeen Journal, 1910).

Read More

  • Moray Chamber of Commerce
  • Living Wage Employer